Friday!

Well, hello there. I hope you’re having a great Friday! I’ve been meaning to post all week, but I’ve been crazy busy.

I’m preparing to transition to a different day-job career, so I’ve been putting together a portfolio and tweaking the resume, etc. This round, I’m going for a data analyst job. I got a certification last summer, and I’m ready to get into it.

It’s taken me a long time to figure out what I can do for a day job that doesn’t make me want to hurl myself off a bridge on a weekly basis. Analytics is the thing.

That means I haven’t done much in the fiction writing department, but I do plan to hit that hardcore within the next few weeks. I love where Church of Shadows is going, and I’m eager to get back to it.

As for bungalow news, the floor project continues. I learned an important lesson about varnish. If you’re going to take forever and a day to refinish a floor, get the small can of varnish, like the quart size.

My gallon has gone wonky. The last couple patches of floor turned out way too dark, because the gallon that’s been open for some time is now thicker than it started.

The varnish is still ok to use. I just can’t use it on the floor because it no longer matches.

Also up on the project list is replacing a window in the front room. At some point before I lived here, it broke, and the previous residents put plexiglass over it. Then they drove a bunch of nails into the top of the frame for whatever reason.

I know a salvage place that should have a good replacement. I’m going to pay them a visit this weekend and see what I can find. I’m hoping for leaded glass.

Once that’s replaced, I should be able to open that window. The dueling gingers will be very excited to have a new window to sit in.

That’s all I have for now! I’ll catch you all on the flip side.

Leave a comment