Book Review: Where Do You Hang Your Hammock?: Finding Peace of Mind While You Write, Publish, and Promote Your Book by Bella Mahaya Carter

Hey, hey! What is up, fellow readers of the internet? I know I haven’t been around much lately. Life has been pretty hectic. I’m working on buying a house, which is almost like having a stressful part-time job I have to pay for. BUT the end result is freedom, so I keep my eyes on the prize, baby.

Needless to say, I will be hanging my hammock in a very different spot shortly. 

On to the review!

Publisher description: “In Where Do You Hang Your Hammock? seasoned coach and author Bella Mahaya Carter shows writers how to use their present circumstances as stepping-stones to a successful and meaningful writing life, navigated from the inside out. It encourages writers and authors to rethink their ambitions (which may be fueled by the tyrannical demands of the ego) and trust in their heartfelt purpose and values in the journey to becoming, or continuing on, as authors.

Many writers believe their self-sabotaging thoughts are trustworthy and true. They take rejection personally. They surmise that if they don’t achieve their goals they have failed, and lose sight of who they are and what matters most.

This book is for writers looking for inspiration and for authors daunted by the publishing process, who might lack the requisite author platform to get published the way they dreamed, or whose careers may not be unfolding as expected. It aims to be the friend and trusted expert writers turn to when hijacked by their own thinking. Ultimately, it reminds authors that they are infinite creators.”

I received an advance reader copy of this book for the review, and I have to say it came along at a very good time for me, not just for the writing aspect but for the calm the author brings with her ideas and methods.

A lot of the strategies the author suggests for dealing with stress and problems involve reframing and adjusting your perspective. Much of this advice can be applied to life in general, not just the writing/publishing process.

Some of it is a bit new-agey, but I like that stuff, so totally into it. I also found that I liked reading a chapter or two at a time. I think if I had tried to read through it too quickly, I wouldn’t have had time to process the ideas and really think about how they might apply to my life.

The book also contains some overviews of the publishing process and marketing, etc. This didn’t come in the form of hardcore applicable strategy, but like the rest of the book, it was more light-handed emotional support paired with a description of activities you might want to engage in throughout the publishing/marketing process.

I picked out a few quotes that I loved and that I think help covey the vibe of the book.

“Without needing anything from your writing, you’ll find that it’s free to exist on its own terms, which are more powerful than anything your mind conjures. Nothing outside you–no accomplishment or accolade–will bring deep validation, peace, or love.” (p. 6)

“The present moment is our point of power. It’s the moment in which we are free to act.” (p. 18)

“I followed my bliss and learned that what you love is your path.” (p. 108)

I will say this is a very feminine book (in case you couldn’t tell by the cover). It probably wouldn’t appeal to dude-bros.

Overall, Where Do You Hang Your Hammock is definitely worth a read for anyone who is into subjects like mindfulness and meditation and, of course, writing.

Link to the preorder on Amazon

One comment

  1. Thanks for sharing! I’m glad this book came at a good time. Best of luck with your house purchase!

Leave a comment