The Errant Book Child

Hey! How are things? Well, I hope.

I finished another rough draft of a book, well, almost. I have a scene or two left, but more or less, it is done. It’s a short, middle-grade book that I thought would be an easy project.

Turns out, it wasn’t. Writing it was like dealing with a kid that just won’t go to sleep, and when you finally get them to lie down, they do so somewhere weird, like the bathtub.

I’m a big believer in letting a thing be what it wants to be, but in this case, I need to use a heavier hand, which makes me worry about the book as a whole. I think the concept and the bones of the story are okay.

The execution just lacks the level of emotion and detail it needs to be good. I’ve been going through some stuff lately, so my emotional and mental energy have probably been affected. I need to find a way to recharge, and that’s going to involve a somewhat significant break from writing. If I’m not at my best then I’m just creating more work for myself down the road.

So, yeah, new writings are on hold for a while, at least a month, except for maybe some blogging. 

hand

 

Leave a comment