Something is Killing the Children

Whale, hello there! How is every little thing?

Heeeey, I just noticed ye olde blog has over 500 followers! What! Thanks, guys. That is super awesome. 🙂

Recently, on my way home from Pennsylvania, I needed something to read on the plane. I did have a book, but I wanted something else, too. I decided to poke around the library app and see what comic books I might want to check out.

I stumbled upon Something is Killing the Children, Vol 1 by James Tynion IV.

It’s like a violent, Supernatural/Scooby Doo-style paranormal investigation story, which is 100% my jam. There is a bit more of a fantasy edge to it, which I like. I haven’t picked up the other volumes yet, but I want to.

The story itself was awesome, but I am more interested in the main character’s backstory. Her name is Erica Slaughter, and she’s a monster hunter. She also carries around a possessed stuffed squid that she talks to, and her history is somewhat mysterious during this first volume.

She’s snarky. She’s badass. She’s a little weird. What else do you need?

Great art. Intriguing plot. If you’re looking for something a bit different to read, this is pretty dang good!

One comment

Leave a comment