NaNoWriMo Update

Day 13. I do not hate myself yet. Mood: optimistic.

The book is going pretty well, despite my various distractions. I need to move a little bit faster. Current word count is 19955. That puts me a smidge behind where I need to be, but I’m not overly worried. Here are my current stats as listed on the Nano website.

stats

 

In my Nano inbox (which I didn’t know I had until today), there was a peptalk from Dean Koontz (Everyone got it, not just me. Alas, Dean Koontz does not personally email me. Though he is welcome to do so at any time!). I hope he doesn’t mind if I steal a snippet from it.

“To get on with your career, don’t waste time responding to the naysayers. Don’t dwell on what they’ve said. Stay true to your vision. Instead of letting their negativism get you down and slow you down, adopt an ‘oh-yeah?’ attitude and double your effort; move faster into the future. The world is full of people who say it can’t be done. If everyone listened to them, we’d still live in caves—and there would be no such thing as books.”

I have to go write now. right now.

Leave a comment